City Clerk

Elections - June 4, 2019

June 4, 2019 - Regular Election

Wards 1, 3, 5, and 7 - All-Mail Ballot Election

On June 4, 2019, the City of Riverside will hold an all-mail ballot election for Councilmembers for Wards 1, 3, 5, and 7. If no one candidate for any Ward achieves over 50% of the ballots cast, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will become the candidates in a runoff election conducted on November 5, 2019. Successful candidates will serve five-year terms transitioning future elections to even-numbered years to coincide with Statewide elections. The official nomination period opens on Monday, February 11, 2019.  The full election calendar can be found here.                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

                                                                                  Candidate Statements of Qualifications

                                                                            Ward 1            Ward 3            Ward 5            Ward 7

Candidates Qualified for the Ballot:

City Council, Ward 1:
Erin Edwards
Philip J. Falcone
Mike Gardner

City Council, Ward 3:
Ronaldo Fierro
Wayne J. Skiles
James "Warren" Avery, III
Ricardo R. Rubio
Darryl Martin (Jalani Bakari)
Stevie S. Taken
Lori A. Pelgone

City Council, Ward 5:
Jose L. Armas
Sean H. Mill
Gabriela Plascencia

City Council, Ward 7:
John D. Denilofs
Maartin J. Rossouw
Steven Hemenway
Thomas L. Jordan
Rodrigo Torres Jr.
William D. Pearce


                                                                     TO BE COUNTED, BALLOTS MUST BE:

  •  Received by the Registrar of Voters or dropped off at a ballot drop-off location by 8 p.m. on Election Day, or

  •  Postmarked on or before Election Day and received by the Registrar of Voters within three days.

Ballots will be mailed today and will begin arriving in mail boxes over the next few days.  In addition to the ballot drop off location dates and times below, ballots may be dropped off beginning today and until Election Day at two locations:


Riverside City Clerk’s Office, 3900 Main Street, 7th Floor, Riverside

Riverside County Registrar of Voters Office, 2720 Gateway Drive, Riverside


Provisional ballots will be available at all ballot drop off locations on Election Day only.  For all other inquiries regarding mailed ballots or provisional ballots, call the Registrar of Voters at 951-486-7200.

Ubicaciones de Entrega de Boletas

For further election information, contact the City Clerk’s Office at 951-826-5557.